Hotel San Lino, situated within the medieval wall of Volterra, was originally built as a convent in 1480 and remained as such until 1982 when it became an hotel. The building maintains a certain mystic aspect of its original "life" thanks to specialized renovations which have helped to enhance its historic charm whilst introducing necessary modern day comforts.
From the rooms facing the Via San Lino guests can view one of the most suggestive medieval streets of Volterra, through which pass, the processions for local historical events and the much acclaimed "Flag Throwers" of Volterra.
The rooms which face the internal side of the hotel allow guests to enjoy the view of the small garden, where the dominating colours are the blue of the swimming pool and the multi coloured rays of the stained glass window belonging to the tiny church of San Lino.
Thanks to it central but quiet location, Hotel San Lino is the ideal place for all who wish to experience the tranquillity of an age gone by or for those who wish to discover the architectural and natural beauty of one of the most ancient cities in Italy.
The history of Hotel San Lino
Chronicles tell us of two pious women, the noble Piera Mattonari and her daughter Elisabetta whom lived in poverty dedicating their lives to prayer and penance. They were joined by other penitents and the group later became part of the religious order of the Clarissa nuns. According to instructions from Pontefice Sisto IV of 12th November 1472, the Benedictine order of S.Giovanni agreed to offer hospitality to the nuns of Clarissa order after their convent situated near Porta Fiorentina was destroyed during the invasion of Volterra. Meanwhile the foundations for a new convent were being prepared in the city, the name of which would be dedicated to the former pope, Saint Lino. Raffaele Maffei wished to build an oratory, a convent and a church for the nuns near to that of Porta San Francesco in the district of Santa Maria.
The first stone was laid in 1480 and the opera was completed in 1527 costing Maffei 8 thousand scudi. This was the first religious opera to be founded after the destruction of 1472. In 1529 the name of the order of the Clarissa was attributed to the nuns and the name of the convent was added to the official list of convents belonging to this particular religious congregation in all of Italy.
In order to commemorate this event, a stone was laid in the church of San Lino, which was built as tradition would have wished as home to the Saint and consecrated in 1576 by the Archbishop Serguidi.